Diabetestribe

  • 09:27:15 pm on July 16, 2008 | 3
    Tags: , ,

    Hi. I am new to the world of diabetes. I was diagnosed on July 1st, 2008 with Type 2 diabetes. So here begins my story.

    A couple of months ago some family members and I were taking a family trip down to Florida. When we got there, I had the sudden urge to urinate, and I insisted that we stop somewhere so I could use the bathroom. I almost didn’t make it. I thought, “That was strange.”, but I didn’t really think more about it.

    Slowly but surely I started to get thirstier and thirstier, and I had to pee more and more often. On another trip to the Northeast, it was all I could do to wait two hours between stops. I am sure I was really annoying my traveling partners, and I felt guilty about it.

    I really started to lose energy. I’ve never had an abundance of energy, but I was really dragging. I also had an infection that didn’t seem to want to heal. Finally I had enough. I arranged to see a doctor, but the first appointment he had available was the day I started jury duty. So I went to see him the next week.

    I was so hoping I didn’t get chosen for jury duty because it would be so hard to sit in that box and have to wait to go to the bathroom.

    I went to the doctor, and low and behold I had a blood sugar of 436. When I told my mother about this, also a Type 2 diabetic, she said “Son, I can’t believe you haven’t went blind!” That really inspired confidence.

    The doctor scheduled me to have blood tests the next morning, and a nurse brought me a meter (a Bayer Breeze) and showed me how to use it. He also put me on Amaryl, 4mg a day.

    It was so nice not to have to pee and not to be thirsty all the time. I made up my mind then and there that I would never again drink a sugary soda, and I would try my best to get my blood sugar down as soon as possible.

    It hasn’t been easy, I had a hard time at first getting my blood draw right, which I am now able to do thanks to some wonderful advice from a Type 1 friend. I was told that there would be doughnuts at a meeting I had to attend. I brought peanuts and a bottle of water. I’m taking the diabetes classes my doctor set up for me.

    Now, my blood sugar has averaged 120 over the last seven days, and I feel a lot better. My infection has gone away, and I have more, but not enough in my mind, energy. I am still working on finding a time/place for exercise.

    I’m going to share here my experiences and hopefully learn along the way, and perhaps help someone else.

    I wasn’t planning on going on this ride but I guess we’ll see where it takes me.

     

Comments

  • mssue 3:32 pm on July 17, 2008 | # | Reply

    I know just how you feel, i was diagnosed in March of this year. I started just the way you did, having to go the the bathroom alot so thirsty that i was going through a case of water every couple of days. when i finally went to the hospital my sugar was “600”. I was sent to ICU and stayed in the hospital a week. It is a lifestyle change. you learn to eat better and exercise. i try and walk atleast thirty minutes day. my sugar is now under control.and i also lost about 30 pounds.

  • diabetestribe 9:22 pm on July 17, 2008 | # | Reply

    Thanks for your comment. I was close to having to go to the hospital myself. Thankfully it didn’t come to that.
    I’m glad you are doing better and thanks for the inspiration.

  • mschicamae 4:58 pm on September 25, 2008 | # | Reply

    I know how you feel too I was diagnosed July 30th. Fasting glucose was 157, did a diet/exercise 360, have lost 22lbs since June, right now my average is around 135, but I’ve had a cold since Friday so my blood sugar is up arg. Although it sucks, it’s good to know that you’re not alone in the struggle.


Leave a Reply

