Diabetestribe

  • 08:10:35 am on July 24, 2008 | 0
    Tags: , , ,

    I’m going to my first post-diagnosis doctor’s visit tomorrow. He’s a general practitioner. I’ve already decided to wear shorts and take off my shoes while I’m waiting for him, which will surely be the case.
    I have to be sure to clip my toenails tonight. I’ve gotten a new Breeze2 meter which curiously didn’t have any control solution in the package so I will ask the nurse to help me test it. I’m not going to switch to it until I finish up with the strips I have now, but I am so looking forward to a smaller required test size and five second test times instead of thirty. Where it really gets you is when there is an error and you have to start all over again.

    Among the things I want to discuss/ask:

    – Can I get a referral to an ophthalmologist? I really need some new glasses.
    – What can I do about the extreme hunger I am feeling at night?
    – What kinds of exercise, how long and how often are appropriate for me?
    – Do I need diabetic shoes/socks, if so can I get a prescription for them?
    – Can I get a prescription for the new Breeze2 strips?

    I am looking forward to when he looks at my meter and sees the progress I’ve made. Right now my 7 day average is 99.

    If I ever get sent to see an endocrinologist, I’ll have to go to a larger city at least 30 miles from here since we don’t have one in the area to my knowledge.

     

Leave a Reply

