Diabetestribe

  • 09:01:25 am on August 26, 2008 | 2
    Tags: , , ,

    There is a show that comes on CNBC on Sunday nights called Dlife TV. It is hosted by the lovely and talented Miss America 1999 Nicole Johnson. She has Type 1 diabetes. I usually record it and watch it later.

    I watched it last night and they did a segment on diabetes etiquette with Dr. William Polonsky. He’s the founder and president of the Behavorial Diabetes Institute. They discussed a card that you can download called “diabetes etiquette”. The tag line says “for people who DON’T have diabetes”.

    You can print these up and give them to people who don’t seem to be very understanding about your diabetes and give them something to think about.

    You can download the card here:

    diabetes etiquette

     

Comments

  • Lee Ann 9:53 am on August 26, 2008 | # | Reply

    That’s brilliant! Thank you! I think Dr. Polonsky is wonderful, and I love the work he does. If you haven’t read “Diabetes Burnout”, you should pick up a copy. I wish I had read it when I was actually burned out, but even though I read it after I had overcome my burnout, it was still incredibly reassuring and validating.

  • diabetestribe 10:02 am on August 26, 2008 | # | Reply

    I’ll have to do that Lee Ann. Thanks for the comment. I don’t think I’ve had diabetes long enough to be burned out lol. But it sounds like great stuff, I’ll have to check it out.

    Here’s an Amazon link to the book:

    Diabetes Burnout
    http://www.amazon.com/Diabetes-Burnout-What-When-Anymore/dp/1580400337


Leave a Reply

